Worth a Look: “Captain Hawklin & the Skyhook Pirates” by Charles F. Millhouse

“America 1938

Captain Steven Hawklin. Pilot, inventor, adventurer, known worldwide. Adored by many, hated by others, Steven Hawklin is a man of action. Protector of Crown City, commander of the Clandestine Wing, the fighter squadron sworn to protect the west coast at any cost.

The adventure begins when Crown City is attacked by armored rocket propelled men charged with finding the Amulet of Horus, an ancient medallion with infinite power. If in the wrong hands the talisman could give the wrong nation the edge on world domination.

The mastermind bent on acquiring the amulet is Skyhook, a mysterious masked man with the forces to obtain it. He is ruthless and cunning. His knowledge rivals Captain Hawklin on every level and he is willing to kill anyone that gets in his way.

Captain Hawklin and the Skyhook Pirates is a golden age adventure story, filled with Heroes and villains, cutthroats and G-Men, pirates and spies. It’s a story filled with intrigue and deception that will keep you guessing through all the hair-raising cliffhangers till the very end.

Inspired by the cliffhanger serials of the 1930’s and 1940’s Captain Hawklin and the Skyhook Pirates is a rip roaring adventure story in the tradition of Buck Rogers and Commando Cody.”

This is part of the new-pulp here movement, which I am biased toward (my own work falls tangentially into this category — not quite as cartoonish.  Shameless plug #1: check out “Nighthawks: A Book of the Broken”).  Most of this movement breaks no new ground and that is the point of much of it.  A return to the rip-roaring adventures of days gone by.  This has plenty of action, daring heroes, diabolical villains, comedic sidekicks, damsels in distress, and outrageous plots.  This, the first of Captain Hawklin’s adventures has everything the new-pulp movement stands for, but isn’t on the level of Pro Se’s Sovereign City (Barry Reese’s Lazarus Gray series is the current standard-bearer for this type of hero new-pulp).

Millhouse’s book is a quick read and like old movie serials, each chapter ends on a cliffhanger, pushing the reader to read just one more chapter before bed…I ended up finishing it before bed that night.  Is it a necessary read for its genre? No.  Is it a lot of fun?  Yes…as long as you don’t mind a few grammar errors here and there.  Am I going to continue with the series?  Most definitely.

Captain Hawklin and the Skyhook Pirates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: